Verum Darwin

Just another WordPress.com site

The Top of the Peanut Butter

leave a comment »

Specifically, the title refers to the best part of a jar of peanut butter.  That smooth-as-glass layer of PB right on the top.  Don’t argue with me on this.  It’s the best part. And as this is my first post, I invite you all to come enjoy the my silken top layer.  It’s all downhill from here.

I have only a loose plan for this forum. Right now my overly-simplistic concept consists of “I type stuff, then I see what happens.” How Napoleonic. I feel a bit like Old Faithful with prostate trouble. The pressure is building. To what end, I don’t know. So vent I shall. And, with any luck, get in some good writing practice while I’m at it. I’m sure the script will appreciate it.

To this point I have successfully (a word I enjoy, because it has triple double letters) written two paragraphs (in the loosest sense of the word) and thoroughly avoided any semblance of an actual topic. Welcome to the all aggrandizement all the time blog! Come see me talk about me as often as I can be bothered! The rest of the time you’ll just have to re-read old posts, or relive old memories of me. I can say that without qualifier because I can’t imagine this little divot of cyberspace being one’s introduction yours truly. I’m pretty sure that’s a good thing.

3 paragraphs down and no topic. Go me. It could be I fear criticism of my ideas on a real subject, so I’m sticking with hard-to-pin-down ramblings.  Part of this is a social experiment.  How many people agree with me? Can I derive anything useful from that information and if so, is that information indicative of acres of potential woe for society.  I’m not sure why this kind of feedback is important to me.  Maybe I just think some of what I have to say has merit and even benefit. They do pay me for stuff like that at work, and I as much as I think I might generate some traffic becoming the world’s foremost blogger on health care X12 transactions, that shit gets old. Maybe I’m arrogant, and think I deserve to be heard. But isn’t that the gift the internet gave? I’m not demanding you listen. Don’t tune to my station if you don’t like my jams, but give a shout if you do.

So what the hell am I actually going to TALK about. I applaud those of you who made it this far. While I may think what I think is interesting, I know I’m not (there’s a semantic Celtic knot for you). So I need a topic, other than me. Let’s start benign. No need alienate people from my witty stylings without giving the internet denizens a chance to test the waters.

So while I think of a topic, I’m passing out homework anyone fortunate enough to stumble across this page. Tell me what you think. Give me topic ideas, writing critiques, a hearty hello, whatever you want to provide. I have some ideas, and, now that you’ve sampled an appetizer and are thinking about what fantastic sensations would tickle your neural palate, I look forward to some meal suggestions. I look forward to hearing from you all, even if it is just to say “Ha! What an asshole.”

Written by silgunsman

April 28, 2011 at 10:13 pm

Posted in Rambles

Leave a comment